The Elevating the Voices of Women in Agriculture (EVWA) Campaign aims to raise awareness of the lived realities of women farmers in Africa. With the EVWA Changemakers Campaign and the EVWA Council, the BKMC is on a mission to highlight and galvanize action for the empowerment of women farmers in Africa. Women account for nearly half of the world’s smallholder farmers. In Africa, they produce 70% of the continent’s food. Yet, they are the most vulnerable members of the farming community, facing obstacles in accessing land, finances, education, and more, because of gender inequalities and our changing climate.


EVWA Council

The EVWA Council fosters dialogue between women farmers from Africa, young changemakers and institutional players in the fields of gender, agriculture and climate change.

Composed of 11 experts from academia, international organizations, NGOs, and governmental representatives, the EVWA Council will work with women smallholder farmers and young changemakers to include their perspectives in policy recommendations to tackle the main challenges women smallholder farmers face. Meet our EVWA Council Members below!

Meet our EVWA Council Members

Hilary Barry

Founder and CEO,
Lady-Agri Impact Investment Hub

Member Bio

Kezia Batisai

Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Johannesburg

Member Bio

Neil Fourie

First Secretary & Agriculture Attaché, FCDO

Member Bio

Valerie Guarnieri

Assistant Executive Director, Programme & Policy Development, WFP

Member Bio

Petronella Halwiindi

Country Director, Uganda,
Farm Africa

Member Bio

Fibian Lukalo

Vice-Chair and Board Member,

Member Bio

Dismas Mwaseba

Associate Professor,
Sokoine University of Agriculture

Member Bio

Lilian Nakigozi

CEO and Founder,
Women Smiles Uganda

Member Bio

Eike Sindlinger

Global Leader Food & Agriculture Systems,

Member Bio

Samuel Tumwesigye

Agriculture and Climate Change Adaptation Specialist,

Member Bio

Maria van Veldhuizen

Consultant & Facilitator

Member Bio

EVWA Changemakers Campaign

EVWA Changemakers is an annual campaign, which recognizes and gives a platform to exceptional Africans below the age of 30, who lead projects that contribute to the empowerment of women farmers.

Through a call for nomination, inspiring young leaders in the field of women farmers’ empowerment will be selected as EVWA Changemakers and spotlighted on the EVWA webpage. Our Call for Nominations to become an EVWA Changemakers 2023 is now closed. Stay tuned for our announcement of the EVWA Changemakers 2023!


EVWA Champion

The EVWA Changemaker, leading the most innovative and inspiring project is announced and recognized as the EVWA Champion. With the title of EVWA Champion comes a 5.000 USD seed-funding award to scale the impact of this project. The EVWA Champion will also receive the unique opportunity to be part of an exciting multimedia documentary production and social media campaign. We will publish this documentary through our channels as well as at key events such as COPs and more to spotlight the EVWA Champion as a best practice example.

EVWA Champion 2022 – Lilian Nakigozi

The EVWA Champion of 2022 is Lilian Nakigozi, Founder and CEO of Women Smiles Uganda. She was chosen out of hundreds of nominations recognized for their inspiring initiative, empowering women farmers on the African continent. We wish her the best of luck with the next steps of her inititiave.


Our partners

Royal DSM is a global, purpose-led leader in health and nutrition, applying bioscience to improve the health of people, animals, and the planet. DSM’s purpose is to create brighter lives for all which we achieve through developing products and solutions that address some of the world’s biggest challenges while simultaneously creating economic, environmental and societal value.

View Website

EVWA Changemakers

Anna Ngwenyi Mafor

Anna Yeboah Boateng

Asma Jalloh

Angella Marjorie Atuhurra

Baliqees Salaudeen

Dorah Momanyi

Dorcas Lukwesa

Ebrima Jarra

Eneyi Oshi

Dorcas Moraa Nyamanya

Etimbuk Imuk

Fatima Kabir Umar

Greg Ikwe

Jiata Ekele

Joe Mapiki

Lilian Nakigozi

Linda Coffie

Marius Affonfere

Mathias Charles Yabe

Melvin Muna

Mosa Dolly Balesamang

Priscah Obutu Mongera

Priscillia Okpali

Sakina Usengimana

Segun Adegoke

Oluwafunmilayo Oyegoke

Ormiel Maganga

Oluwatomilola Mustapha

Phenny Omondi

Suzan Machera

Tusayiwe Sikwese